It’s a pleasure…

…..to meet you, I mean.  Post number one of a new blog on a new site.  This is exciting stuff, right?  Am I selling stuff?  No…at least not right now.  Who knows what the future holds.  Life so far has taught me that I do not have the answers to so very much.  I used to sell stuff, but not so much any more.  Will I ever use this site to share some found object I have turned into my own?  Quite possibly.  Will that object be for sale?  Maybe and maybe not.  I usually only work on things I love…then I get attached to them.  In what feels like another life ago (but really it has only been a few years ago) I did just that.  I went in search of some beat up, albiet interesting item…scraped it, sanded it, painted it, sanded it some more, glazed it; then I dragged it to a show, and loe and behold, someone actually wanted to buy it from me.  What a bag of mixed emotions that was!  My whole purpose was to sell it, but it was my first piece and I was attached to it.  Part of me wanted to hug the buyer.  The other part wanted to cry.  Logic won out in the end and I sold it without hugs or tears.  I haven’t had the opportunity to work on such items of late.  As my brother and his wife would say, it is not my “season of life” right now.  What is my season of life right now?  Well, I’m still working on that. 

What I will probably use this blog to do is reconnect with blogs I used to enjoy reading, and connect with new blogs I am finding, talk about books I enjoy reading,  share seeds/plants I just added to my garden (or wish I had time to add to my garden), and maybe even share a project or two, plus any other drivel that comes to mind at the moment.  In the meantime….I have a lot of learning to do to figure out this site and all it’s possibilities.

I will share a blog that I am really enjoying and that is SlowLoveLife by Dominique Browning.  http://www.slowlovelife.com/  While I’m waiting for her third book to come out I’m reacquainting myself with her first two books.  I love to read a book where I feel the author is having a chat with me.  To be able to write like that….wow.  Dominque, I don’t know you, but I feel that I do.  I hope that does not feel like an intrusion to you.  I have wondered about that.  When an author spills his/her soul, suddenly everyone pretends to know that person.  I’m sure there is still so much he or she still keeps to themselves, right?  Anyway, I read her first book and was so thristy for more that I anxiously read the second.  Reading them the second time around now feels very comforting, like I’m chatting with an old friend.  While I anxiously await Slow Love (the new book) to arrive on my doorstep in mid-May (or so Amazon says), I am thorougly enjoying reading her blog.

Around the House and in the Garden: A Memoir of Heartbreak Healing and Home ImprovementPaths of Desire: The Passions of a Suburban Gardener

I would love to know if you’ve read them (that is presuming you know I exist here). 

So for now I leave you with wise words from Laura Ingalls Wilder, “I am beginning to learn that it is the sweet, simple things of life which are the real ones after all.”           Hmmmm.

~~

12 responses to this post.

  1. Posted by Mindy on April 20, 2010 at 7:01 pm

    Carol, yours is the first blog I have ever followed and I enjoyed it! Looking forward to more!

    P.S. A mockingbird is building a nest in my patio. I plan on watching and maybe getting some photos, but those birds can be ornery so we’ll have to see how it goes.

    Reply

    • Thanks, Mindy! Please keep me posted on your bird happenings. Your pics of the Painted Bunting were perfect. I finally got to see one, but I did not as close as you.

      Reply

  2. Posted by mike on April 20, 2010 at 7:19 pm

    Now everyone will know why I love you.
    Very good.
    It was worded very nicely.

    Reply

  3. Posted by Shirley (Mom) on April 20, 2010 at 8:06 pm

    I am so proud that you are my daughter!!! (Always have been)

    Reply

    • Posted by Aunt Claire on April 20, 2010 at 8:51 pm

      I just love your blog girl. I think I will read one of
      your favorite books, as I know I love what you love
      and I love you Carol. Great job!!

      Reply

      • Hi Aunt Claire. You are so sweet. I think you will love these books. I think you will also like Margaret Roach. I just learned of her site and upcoming book. I’ll add a link for A Way to Garden. Love you too!

    • Hi Mom. Thanks for passing on your love of books and reading. I know you have more books than I do!! Love, Carol

      Reply

  4. Posted by Jerry Britt on April 21, 2010 at 1:59 am

    Carol,
    Want to wish you Best of Luck on your “Blog” we need to get connected on seed and plant exchange. We do alot with hybrids at work in the Hobby Garden for the sake of trying to provide the most for all the employees.

    I sort of gave my garden at the house for now; had new drain field put in and sodded it. So for now I am enjoying the grassy area. I am considering incorporating into the landscape vegetable plants. I have started some raised beds, small scale I need to work out the irrigation logistics.

    I enjoy dragging the hose some nights; but other times it is a pain and a finely tuned drip or microjet system can be more efficient. I am house sitting the neighbors garden right now. This is their 2nd garden and are learning. I roto-tilled their plot for them, my other neighbor has backed of from doing any gardening this season. I was considering asking to use her space and put something in for all to enjoy here at home.

    When we have abundant harvests at work I bring home and share the goodies with the neighbors; I guess sort of a perk for them. When we have too much of one thing they start to avoid me, and stop answering their doors as I stand there with veggies in hand 🙂 There’s always the compost pile!

    Best of Luck with your Blog; and see if we can connect again. I might share this with my daughter Aimee, she lives on the West coast of Florida. She’s the only one of the girls who still plays in the dirt!!

    Jerry

    Reply

    • Hi Jerry. I definitely have GOT to head up your way. I think your garden (even when you don’t officially have one) is more together than my little one. I would love to see it. Thanks for visiting my little endeavor here!

      Reply

  5. Congratulations on starting the blog, and especially on selecting WordPress, one of my great loves (after gardening). Nice to “meet” you.

    Reply

Leave a Reply

