Paint and Worry

I felt Martha Stewart would have given an approving nod in our direction this past weekend as the shed was painted Martha Stewart Saguaro (MSL092).  The house will soon follow suit.  Eventually, the hen houses will be painted the same (very Martha-esque!).  I glanced out to see a freshly painted wall and a chicken walking past.  It was as if I had opened an issue of Martha Stewart Living and was pleased it was actually my very own back yard I was seeing.  The trim is my favorite Ultra Pure White from Behr (the brightest white in my opinion), and back to Martha Stewart for the doors: Kerry Blue Terrier (MSL161). 

It looks like this coming weekend will be an exterior paint fest.  Calling in all favors from all those for whom we have ever helped paint (or other such projects)!!!  Yes, I know it will be hot, but I will keep the liquids flowing.  We have a small house….won’t take long at all!!  

Meanwhile, worry is filling my mind this afternoon.  Yes, I know how fruitless this activity is.  It is not about the painting of my home, but of other things I cannot control.  In an effort to contain it, I did some research on clever quotes. 

“People gather bundles of sticks to build bridges they never cross.” – Author Unknown

This conjers up a vision of a bridge so grand that even my bridge engineer brother would be impressed.  I feel that at least something constructive would come from my worrying.  But if I never get to cross it….wasted energy.  Point taken.

“That the birds of worry and care fly over your head, this you cannot change; but that they build nests in your hair, this you can prevent.”  Chinese Proverb

I laughed at this one as I instantly saw a FLOCK of birds trying to build a nest on my head.  I liked that it brought me to laughter, which has always been a great anxiety reliever to me.  It also made me see the nonsense in this activity…this worrying thing.

“For peace of mind, resign as general manager of the universe.” – Author Unknown

BOINK!  Hit right on the head!  Right….I am not in charge.  Okay, I quit!!

Check out these nests.  Maybe I could wear these as earrings to match my bird nest hat!

One response to this post.

  1. I want a vacation……!

    Reply

Leave a comment